Fifty Candles

It is getting dark already, and the lights are not coming back on anytime soon. The house is dark too, should I light it up? The rain pouring outside is also not making this any easier. It is getting colder, can we warm the house up? You’re complaining about your soap? I had some work to finish, this darkness is a total disaster. I never realized how cold and quiet it can get when there is no electricity.

The cold draught passing through the sitting room reminds me that I had not closed the windows. Can you close the window while I look for a lantern? Let me use my phone to work through the maze that is the store. I know the lantern is somewhere here. Oh no! My phone is almost out of charge, guess I expected the electricity to stay on for a bit longer as I did some work. Can I have yours? LOL! You mean you too forgot to charge it? How trusting we both are of KPLC. Let me try my luck, if bats can do it, I can hit a few walls and get my bearing.

I think I found the lantern, it’s a temporal measure but better than nothing, don’t you think? It hasn’t been used in a while, it is too dusty. Ah, nice! Finally some well deserved light. Let me sit down beside you and watch it go off. Damn it! That did not even last a minute, it is off! Remind me to charge it when we have electricity. This is depressing! So do we sit in darkness and stare at each other? Of course, I knew you would suggest that. I fear matchboxes though, especially since we are alone in our house and if we burnt it down, help will be here after the rains have subsided. Nkt! Stop laughing at me, it is a serious issue!

Image

I like that laughter, I actually love it. I did not realize how I had missed that laugh. Even in the dark it shines through. OK, let me bring all the candles we have, but you handle the matchboxes, told you I fear those things. I am not delicate,  just think I am a dormant arsonist. It seems we had invested heavily in candles. Now that you mention it, I remember how we had such rosy ideas for life, all these candles were supposed to be for our candle lit dinners and all. What happened to all those plans? Sad, all this packets should be spent since we have been living together for long. Seems we have a chance to use a few.

You want to teach me how to light a match? I swear if I get burnt it will be on you. You go first, light it and I will watch from a far. This feels funny, you holding my hands and teaching me how to strike a matchbox. If people knew that I couldn’t, that would be the end of me! That wasn’t so bad, I can light a few more. Yea, of course I can afford some bass in my voice now, you mean it is always high pitched? Hmpf, you still fell for it either way. So how many do we need? We light all of them up? They are like fifty of them! So this is one of those nights huh?

Now that you had lit one ahead of me, we should light the rest with that one. I like the love heart suggestion, our own romantic getaway without going anywhere. I had forgotten how much fun chatting with you was in those early days. As every candle comes alive with a yellow flicker, I cant help but look at you afresh. It is almost like the first time I saw you. So young, so fresh faced with life. Hiding what was behind those  brown eyes. Those eyes I saw hide pain and joy in a deceptive flicker. Somehow, you pulled through. You are a strong person, I don’t doubt you will always find strength despite any challenges you face.

The last two candles, leave us facing each other noses touching …

Image

Twenty five candles each, burning brightly individually. Twenty five candles on your side and twenty five of mine. Fifty candles burning bright, each the same intensity, each the same brightness. Fifty candles lighting up the room and casting our shadows on the walls. Fifty candles burning brightly, giving us warmth in the dark. Feeling safe and secure with the light and warmth that fifty candles provide. The candle wax drips on the side of each candle, and as it diminishes, all the wax piles at the bottom as a reminder of a once untouched candle.

We cuddle on the shaggy carpet at the head of our fiery love heart ensemble. The stories we share, the moments we have had all seem entrenched in the fifty candles, with their lights flickering and the sooty smoke getting expelled in a wisp. We stretch and sit down bodies facing opposite sides, just heads touching. We face each other and feel each others breath. Silence and understanding only gotten by kindred souls. I am not sure you are thinking what I am, but it feels like one of those nights…  with fifty candles burning bright and warm.Image

Leave a comment